The International Committee of The All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) has 
commended the African Union (AU) for the launch of a single, common 

electronic passport (e-Passport) for all Africans at the just concluded 

27th AU Summit, in Kigali, Rwanda.

It also applauded the ultimate goal of the single passport which is set 

to realize the dream of visa-free travel for African citizens within the 

African continent by 2020.
In the same vein, the AU’s single, common electronic passport throughout 

the continent falls squarely within the framework of Africa’s Agenda 

2063 and has the specific aim of facilitating free movement of persons, 

goods and services around the continent in order to foster intra-Africa 

trade, integration and socio-economic development.

Reacting to this development, President/ Executive Producer, AFRIMA, 

Mike Dada, said, “The African Union’s plan to allowing free movement of 

citizens within the African continent is a stepping stone towards 

building stronger unity among African nations and this is what we at the 

International Committee of AFRIMA have been canvassing and propagating 

for years in line with the AFRIMA’s vision.
“For us in AFRIMA, it is a strong step towards making every African 



think and act beyond national identities and identify themselves as 

citizens of the African continent with a sense of pride that, ‘I am an 


“We have found that it is easier to travel to Europe and America from 

Africa than Africans travelling within Africa. Yearly, we face a big 

hurdle in visa processing, direct flights and protocol to bring in over 

880 nominees/superstars and their guests, 150 production crew members, 

international media and over 2000 international invited guests to the 

AFRIMA Awards ceremony annually.”
“The single passport will also ease and facilitate one of the AFRIMA 

objectives which is to engage all the stakeholders who are critical to 

the awards process to give them a platform for knowledge sharing and 

capacity-building on the continent. AFRIMA has embarked and organised 

stakeholders’ engagements and press conferences in over 25 African 

countries in the five regions of Africa. This we will do until we cover 

the 54 member states,” he concluded.
In partnership with the African Union Commission, AUC, The All Africa 

Music Awards, AFRIMA, is a continental music and cultural initiative 

developed to celebrate, reward and showcase the rich musical heritage of 

Africa, stimulate conversations among Africans and between Africa and 

the rest of the globe about the great potential and values of the 

African culture and artistic legacy for the purpose of creating jobs, 

reducing poverty, calling attention of world leaders to Africa and 

promoting the positive image of Africa to the world.
In line with the AFRIMA 3.0 calendar, submission of entries closes on 

July 30, 2016. There are 34 award categories open to music artistes, 

producers, video directors, songwriters and music/entertainment 

journalists as well as the hitherto unheralded music professionals. The 

spectacular 2016 awards ceremony will be hosted in Nigeria in November 

4-6. This will be preceded by the AFRIMA Music Village and Africa Music 


Leave a Reply