It was a night of glitz and glamour at the Emmaus House, Awka, Anambra State, on Friday, October 31, 2014 when the Anambra Broadcasting Service (ABS) hosted the maiden edition of Miss Independence Anambra Beauty Pageant 2014. Djinee, C-Doff and Slow Dog thrilled the audience with their spectacular performances while the likes of Okey Bakassi, Senator, Pencil, Rugged Evangelist, MC Parrot Mouth and other comedians cracked jokes to enliven the atmosphere. Crown Dancers, Omega Inspired and Slim Joe also put up amazing dance displays. Miss Chizoba Ejike, a 21year old 3rd year Accounting student at the Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka was crowned Miss Independence Anambra 2014. She took home the prize money of one million naira, among other gifts. Miss Christabel Okafor, a 20 year old graduate of Medical Radiography, from the University of Nigeria (Enugu Campus), was the second runner up. She got a cash prize of N500, 000. 19 year old Miss Jennifer Abasili, a final year student of Applied Environmental Biology, Rivers State University of Science & Technology, was the 2nd runner up, with a cash prize of N200, 000. Awards were also given to five deserving Top 20 Finalists as follow: Obi Mary Jane (Operation Kpochapu) – Best Model , Chidinma Anita Okoye (Literature) -People’s Choice, Chisom Okoye (Ogbunike Cave) – Most Brilliant Contestant, Ifunanya Okoye (Culture) – Most Photogenic, Chiekwere Ngozi Lovelyn – Miss Amity. The star-studded show had in attendance Nwando Okwuosa, Miss Nigeria 2003, Chinenye Ochuba- Akinlade, Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria 2002, Ene Lawani, Miss Nigeria 2004, Miss Rita Idehen, Olisa Adibua of Beat FM, Bob-Manuel Udokwu, Ifeanyi Okonkwo of Message, among other celebs. Chief Tony Onyima, Commissioner for Information, Culture & Tourism, Anambra State, represented the state governor, Chief Willie Obiano. He said that Ndi Anambra are now able to enjoy social events at night due to the gallant security initiatives of the Willie Obiano administration. Other senior Anambra State government officials present at the show included Obi Nwankwo (Commissioner for Science & Technology), Law Chinwuba (Commissioner for Housing & Urban Development), Prof. Solo Chukwulobe (Commissioner for Budget & Economic Planning), Willie Nwoko, Principal Secretary to the Governor, Mrs. Henrietta Uche, Senior Special Assistant to the Governor on Culture & Tourism, Dr. Charles Nwufo, Chief of Staff to the Deputy Governor, James Eze, SA Media to the Governor, Emeka Ozumba, SA Media to the Governor, Chido Obidiegwu, among others. Mr. Uche Nworah, the newly appointed MD/CEO of Anambra Broadcasting Service said the pageant will run in 2015 as Miss Anambra Beauty Pageant, with a brand new car, among many other prizes for the winner. He also advised intending participants for the 2015 Miss Anambra Pageant to always check their website www.absradiotv.com for further details.

L-R Christabel Okafor (1st runner up), Governor Willie Obiano, MIA 2014 Chizoba Ejike, Jennifer Abasili (2nd runner up)

Emmanuel Kairos Anyachor makes electronics gifts presentations to the winners

native wear

Nwando Okwuosa & Olisa Adibua

Chido Obidiegwu & MC Parrot Mouth

Nwando Okwuosa & Ene Lawani

Obi Nwankwo, Willie Nwokoye, Tony Onyima, a guest & Law Chinwuba

John Bosco Onunkwo (R)

Olisa Adibua & Nwando Okwuosa (Miss  Nigeria 2003)

Abiola Jinadu & DJ Rakis

Adaeze Anyanaegbu (a contestant) and her family

Bob-Manuel Udokwu, Mrs Henrietta Uche, Dr. Ify Dunu & Chidi Okoye

C-Doff 2

Chris Osondu & Collins Nkwoji

Djinee-1  Ene Lawani, Chinenye Ochuba, Rita Idehen, Ifeanyi Okonkwo

Ene Lawani, Nwando Okwuosa & Rita Idehen

6,869 total views, 2 views today

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.