Senate Steps Down Reports On Bills To Establish University Of Education, College Of Forestry


The Senate on Wednesday stepped down two reports on bills seeking to establish the Federal University of Education Numan, and the Federal College of Forestry, Wawa Zange Dukku in Gombe state.

The reports were presented by Senator Nora Daduut on behalf of the Chairman, Committee on a tertiary Institutions and TETFUND, Senator Ahmad Babba Kaita.

The reports for the establishment of the two institutions were stepped down by the chamber after it suspended the clause-by-clause consideration of both bills in a Committee of the Whole.

While clauses 1 to 5 of the bill to establish the University of Education Numan were approved by the chamber, only clauses 1 and 2 received approval in the second bill to establish the Federal College of Forestry before they were stepped down.

The decision to step down consideration of the reports followed calls for further clarification on the recommendation of the Committee under Clause 6(e) of the bill seeking to establish the University of Education Numan.

Clause 6 of the bill provides for the composition, tenure and powers of the Council of the University.

In a related development, the chamber during consideration of the bill to establish the Federal College of Forestry, sought further clarification on Clause 3, which provides for the constitution and composition of the Governing Council.

The observations raised by lawmakers prompted the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, to advice that the Committee carry out further work on both bills for re-presentation next week during plenary.

According to him, doing so would enable the timely passage of both bills by the chamber before it proceeds on the Christmas break.

Meanwhile, two bills seeking to establish the Federal College of Agriculture, Ubiaja, Edo State; and to amend the Financial Reporting Council of Nigeria Act, 2011, scaled second reading during plenary on Tuesday.

The bills were sponsored by Senators Clifford Ordia (PDP, Edo Central) and Yusuf Abubakar Yusuf (APC, Taraba Central).

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, after both bills were considered, referred them to the Committees on Tertiary Institutions and TETFUND; and Trade and Investments, respectively.

Both Committees were given four weeks to report back to the Senate.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: